Department of Economics

About Economics Department

"The Department of Economics is one of the oldest departments of the college. It became a full-fledged department in the year 1980 when B.A. Economics was started with Mathematics and History as subsidiaries. So far 37 batches of students completed course from this department. At present 190 students are studying in the department. The former faculty of this department consisted of Prof. T.P. George who retired in 1991, Prof. Valsala, who retired in 2003 and Dr. N. Ajithkumar, who took voluntary retirement in 2008 and Smt.P. Supriya who retired in the 2018. Well known economist late Prof. Shyam Bhatt started his academic career as a teacher of this department. At present one permanent and two guest teachers are there in the Department. "

Department Vision

The vision of the department is to contribute to nation building and national integration by imparting knowledge to the youth in the economic, social and political framework of the country.

Department Mission

The mission of the department is to offer a rigorous undergraduate program with emphasis on the application of theory to practice, use of hands on research assignments and state of the art education technology. Promote independent learning experience, extensive student teacher interaction and the maintenance of a supportive environment for all the students.

For admission !